Pizza, pizza and more pizza!


I promised a post on pizza so here it is. But that is obvious, huh? Serious, who doesn’t love a slice now and then? Almost every informal group I have had a part of serves/buys pizza for meetings or parties. It’s amazing how much money is plunked down for pizza just in the US alone. According to Pizza Today as quoted in this USA Today article, written in 2005,  the amount of money spent in the USA on pizza is over $32 billion dollars!!!! Can you believe it? Pizza sales account for 10% of all food purchases as well. This doesn’t even begin to cover the amount of pizza consumed at home that is homemade. You can only imagine those numbers.
Last night we made homemade pizza. I wanted to make Pizza Margherita, the traditional Italian style of pizza. My boys, of course, wanted their own. No problem. I used a recipe for the dough that was new to me and I don’t think I will use it again. I am pretty sure, after working with different doughs, the ratios were off in this recipe. I won’t post the link because I don’t want anyone to get a bad reputation. It could have been me, for all I know, who doesn’t know what they are doing. But I did end up with a great pizza in the end. The crust was a bit crunchy on the edges because we cooked it like 3 minutes too long, but otherwise, the taste was fantastic!

Pizza Margherita

1 basic pizza crust-homemade or store-bought (your choice)

3-4 ripe plum tomatoes

4 Tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

4-5 large basil leaves

1/2 pound fresh mozzarella sliced

Heat oven to 500 degrees and preheat pizza stone for 10 min.In a food processor, pulse the tomatoes, 1 tbsp of oil and some salt and pepper.  Make your pizza on a piece of parchment paper. Tip-cut the paper to the size of your crust or the edges of the paper burn-trust me on this.  Spread the sauce on the pizza, it will be thin but don’t worry. The hot oven will cause the water to evaporate off the pizza. Put the dough with sauce into the oven for 10 minutes on the bottom rack. Remove carefully and add the fresh basil leaves, torn up, and the cheese slices. Drizzle the rest of the olive oil as well. Put the pizza back in the oven, moving to the middle rack if need be, for about 5-8 minutes or until the cheese is melted and bottom of the crust is light brown. Remove and enjoy! We added a bit more basil when it was out of the oven, that is why the basil is two different colors.

My younger son preferred a calzone type of meal so here he is with his dinner. He wanted to be on “the blog”.

This article at Life in Italy gives a wonderful history of pizza in Italy. I love how they say in the USA there are two kinds of pizza-thick and cheesy Chicago style or thin and more traditional like in NYC. But in Italy there are also two distinct styles-Italian style and the rest of the world. I love it!

Oh by the way, as I was sitting here typing out this post, my sons were listening to the information I found in my simple research and they decided they needed to eat pizza/calzone once again. Good thing I had one of those packages of quick pizza crusts where you just add water! See even the Italian mama chef uses convenient foods in her home.

14 thoughts on “Pizza, pizza and more pizza!

  1. Thanks for posting this. I have wondered about how they make pizza in Italy and how much it is like what we have here.

  2. Love this. Thought I’d check out your site after the great comments you posted on Anonymous8. Anyways, we love pizza. Also, I discovered that if you go up to the pizza counter at Whole Foods, they will sell you the dough. We take that home, put it on a pizza stone, and go to town. Kids love it.

    Thanks,
    Sarah Baron
    http://www.anonymous8.com

  3. Oh real Itailan pizza, how I miss thee! There is nothing like Italian pizza bought in Italy. It is SO different from anything here in the US. It actually seems healthy for you when you eat it there. And there are so many different choices. The toppings vary so much. From potatoes to peppers, to prosciutto, tomatoes, tuna, eggplant, I mean… they really know what they are doing. And before I lived there I had no idea that Italians eat pizza so much! It’s really like the stereotype… there are pizzerias everywhere! I loved it! (I actually have a ball of fresh mozzarella in the fridge cause I was planning to make a pizza tonight!) Glad I read this post, now I’m super excited for dinner!

  4. Maria,
    Oh my I can’t wait to go to Italy just for the food let alone visit my relatives and see my grandparents hometown. I can’t imagine some of those toppings tasting good on a pizza but I guess to each his/her own. I can’t wait to explore other toppings. Thanks for stopping by. I think I found your site early on in my blogging and I have gleaned a ton of info from you and your site. Thanks.

  5. Your son looks like he’s enjoying his pizza. Just saying hello from SITS. $32 million on pizza! Or did you say $32 billion on pizza? Good heavens. Well, pizza is a crowd pleaser. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  6. Wow, $32 Billion?!? Now, that is a lot of DOUGH! LOL! :0) Thanks for sharing this recipe. I’ve been looking for a good homemade pizza recipe that my husband and teenage daughters could use. They love to eat pizza but we just can’t afford to order it very often.

    Anyway, I’m stopping by from SITS! I wanted to share a bit of comment love.♥ I’d love for you to stop by my blog, too, when you have time. I really like to make new bloggy friends!

    I hope you have an amazing week!

    Blessings,

    Teresa <

  7. Teresa,
    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. I will be dropping by your blog later. I did say billion! It’s a lot of money for sure. Pizza can be very economical if you make it at home. May be the initial outlay of ingredients and toppings can be a bit but if you only use a little on each pizza, then you are stretching out those costs. Besides, homemade is much better.
    But like I said, we do get take out at times and even use a quick crust mix in a pinch. I am not a super woman chef, just a mama who loves to cook good food when possible and who has a busy life.

  8. Pizza is probably my favorite food. I was just thinking I might make it for dinner. I finally found a good crust recipe. Took forever to find!
    Came by from SITS to say hi.

  9. In the UK I can take or leave pizza – it’s usually saved for days when I’m as hungover as a dog and need serious carb-loading – but here I could eat it forever. There’s nothing like that beautifully thin base that you get in Italy, and when you combine it with the distinctive taste of a wood-fired oven, well, it’s just heaven on a plate. I have yet to make my own dough, but there’s a part of me that feels I should leave pizza-making to the professionals. (Also, I’m lazy. 😉 )

Comments are closed.