Bacon Wrapped Chicken Involtini Revisted


Last week a friend let me know she tried one of my recipes. That excites me. What can I say? I’m a simple girl. She told me she prepared the bacon wrapped chicken and used roasted red pepper and provolone cheese which were different from the original recipe’s ingredient list. According to her and her family this combination was delicious. She told me she made extra because like us, they are lovers of bacon, and know all things made with bacon can be delicious.  I guess if you have been with me a long time you know when I made this the first time I did not make enough for Phil to take leftovers in his lunch.

Tonight was different. I made one extra chicken roll. I guess I’m learning. I even think the picture I took turned out better so that is why I am reposting this recipe as well as the new picture.

bacon wrapped chicken, chicken, bacon

Bacon Wrapped Chicken Involtini

1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/2 pound bacon

5-6 slices Provolone cheese

4-6 roasted red peppers

Dried rosemary

Dried oregano

Fresh ground pepper

toothpicks

Pre-heat oven to 375. Wash and butterfly cut the chicken breasts. Pound out each piece so they are thin but don’t tear through the meat. Lay a strip of red pepper on each topped with the slice of cheese and a sprinkle of each herb and pepper. Making sure the filling is in the center, roll up in cigar fashion from the smaller end and then wrap a piece or two of bacon around each roll. Secure with several toothpicks as needed.

Pre-heat a skillet and brown each roll until the bacon begins to cook and the chicken is getting white on the outside. Transfer into an oven and broiler proof dish. Bake at 375 for 25 minutes or until chicken is at least 160 degrees inside. Switch to the broiler setting and broil each side for a few minutes to finish crisping the bacon. Serve with a tossed salad and bread.

2 thoughts on “Bacon Wrapped Chicken Involtini Revisted

Comments are closed.